Bye bye, Blogspot!

The audacity!

On 7/31/07, Blogger Help <support@blogger.com> wrote:

Hello,

Your blog has been reviewed, verified, and cleared for regular use so that
it will no longer appear as potential spam. If you sign out of Blogger and
sign back in again, you should be able to post as normal. Thanks for your
patience, and we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

Sincerely,
The Blogger Team

Yeah, I bet they lost a furtive tear over the trouble they caused me.  Here is my response:

To Whom It May Concern,

What is this “Big Brother” bullcrap.  You had NO BUSINESS preventing people from reading my innocent blog while you were investigating me.  I at least deserve an explanation for WHY I was under review, WHAT steps were taken to “verify” my blog, and WHY it took you so long to clear me for “regular use”.

I recommend that when you decide to accuse people of wrongdoing in the future, that you kindly send them an e-mail alerting them to the fact that you, the Big Brother, will be investigating them.  Only when you have verified PROOF of illegal activity should you be seizing people’s intellectual property.

I use a number of google services.  I am definitely going to delete my blogger accounts, and will have to think long and hard about deleting my picasaweb, googledocs, and gmail accounts.  I think it’s likely time to find a new search engine.

Be assured that in this age of FREE exchange of information that your lack of professional behavior, your inappropriate use of censure, seizure of my intellectual property, and the time and energy this idiotic experience caused me will be advertised to the world wide web.

Sincerely,

 I doubt I’ll ever know why they seized my blog.  I’ve since moved the posts over here and deleted the previous site on blogspot.  Needless to say I don’t recommend blogger as a blog host, and I hope you will add them to your do not recommend list as well.  Please let others know that this is NOT an unusual occurance.  When I searched blogger’s help site, there were plenty of other people who had had their blogs removed without their knowledge or consent.

Blogger sucks!

5 responses to “Bye bye, Blogspot!

Leave a Reply

