Will you see “The Business of Being Born”?

Click here to learn about Ricki Lake’s  documentary, “The Business of Being Born.”  Information from her fan site is here.

~~~~~~~~~

When I first learned about the movie, I decided to look into hosting a “sneak preview” here in Missoula as a benefit for a new ICAN chapter.  However, the screening fee is $200 which I personally can’t afford to assume and try and turn a bit of a profit for our group. 

One of the first ICAN e-mails I read today was titled ‘NO WASHINGTON DC AREA MOVIE THEATER SHOWINGS OF “THE BUSINESS OF BEING BORN'”.  I was concerned, because if WDC has no scheduled viewings of this movie, then what about little towns like Missoula?  Little towns with BIG cesarean problems? I’ll share the e-mail I sent through the show’s website today:

To Whom It May Concern:

I am hoping that “The Business of Being Born” will be scheduled to appear in Missoula, MT.  I have looked at hosting a showing to raise funds for a new International Cesarean Awareness Network (Chapter) [sic] in development here in Western Montana.  However, we can’t afford the $200 fee, especially if we hope to raise money for our chapter.  So, I hope you will look into scheduling with our local Indy theater, The Wilma.  Their number is 406.728.2521.  Although Missoula is a fairly progressive town, maternal care here is not.

Please let me know if I can be of assistance with your efforts to encourage healthy birth outcomes for moms and babies.  Know that our local cesarean rate is 30% which is double the recommended LIMIT established by the World Health Organization.  Also know that in 2005, only 1% of Montana births were vaginal births after cesarean section (VBAC).  Our local hospital only had 16 successful VBACs last year.  Hopefully you see this state as one in dire need of education with regard to what should be “normal” childbirth!

I didn’t receive a response today, but I’m hopeful that I will hear from them soon.  I don’t know if they’ll have suggestions for me or not.  I think the $200 fee is a bit of a crock especially since they suggest that a screening might serve as a fundraiser.  Not exactly in line with philanthropy, in my opinion. 

I’ll be interested to hear what the buzz from the “sneak previews” will be . . .

One response to “Will you see “The Business of Being Born”?

  1. I saw it at the Lamaze International Conference. It was a really neat film and I liked it. I don’t know it will have the effect that we were all hoping.

    Labortrials responds:

    Thanks for the feedback Robin. I’m working on getting it scheduled here in Missoula! If you happen to see this, do you mind responding again. I’d be interested to know why you think it might not make enough of an impact.

Leave a Reply

