Too much to say… too little time to post

I was so pleased to have my blog acknowledged by Empowered Birth blog recently as a supportive VBAC blog.  Her blog subtitle is “A homebirth after cesarean healed my scars and renewed my trust in birth. Trying to spread the message that birth should be EMPOWERING.”  I so admire this outlook on childbirth, and even though hospitals, insurance companies, and providers aren’t trusting the process, it is wonderful to see so many women trusting their bodies and overcoming fears that natural childbirth is risky, too painful, too long, and simply not worth it.  When you examine current childbirth practices and how risky they are, and the increasingly hostile medical (not science-based) management of pregnancy and childbirth, you know that you must do all within your power to ensure good outcomes for both you and your child.

Briefly, let me mention a one-sided article that appeared in the November 12 Houston Chronicle.  And look at the responses – I am so proud.  The International Cesarean Awareness Network (ICAN) and others responded in a timely fashion to this piece of “news” which shamefully appeared in a leading (albeit quite conservative) national newpaper.  I still plan to share my thoughts on this piece of “journalism”, but I am traveling this week and don’t know what sort of time I’ll have to devote to childbirth advocacy.

Where am I going?  Well, I’ll be in Salt Lake City presenting at the Association for Technology in Music Instruction (ATMI) national conference.  I’ll be workshopping Web 2.0 tools for classroom and studio instruction.  I’m also there to attend the College Music Society national conference.  I’m serving as a session chair for the 20th Century Vocal Sampler!  I plan to be more smarterer when I return.  ;)

6 responses to “Too much to say… too little time to post

  1. I entered the VBAC program with the highest hopes. Unfortunately, my individual circumstances warranted yet another cesarean and and a therefore permanent sentence of permanent c-sections. I do support those that succeed in the program in ways that I was incapable of and commend them for the efforts, but I also have a firm understanding that this program is not for everyone. Each experience is individual which is why the VBAC program was abandoned among many hospitals world wide approximately 5 years ago and the old adage “once a c-section, always a c-section” was reasserted as the safest point of view.

    I honestly do wish that the best option was indeed to not have to go through major surgery time and time again, but unfortunately for the majority, this is not the case,

  2. Thanks for your comment. I am sorry that your VBAC ended in CBAC. Sometimes it is necessary, so don’t beat yourself up! However, hold on to hope! Research does NOT substantiate an OB’s claim that after 2 cesareans a woman MUST chose repeat cesarean. Look at the Landon (et al) study, for instance – “Maternal & Perinatal Outcomes Associated with Trial of Labor after Prior Cesarean Delivery,” from The New England Journal of Medicine, December 2004. I can e-mail you the pdf if you’d like. Also, be sure to check out http://www.plus-size-pregnancy.org/CSANDVBAC/csvbacindex.html. Her information on VBAMC is excellent (not just for plus-size moms). And I hope you are aware of the ICAN and Childbirth Connections websites as well (see my links).

    I hope this helps. Thank you for posting your story. All best wishes,
    Labortrials

  3. I took the time to check out that address and it was very informative! Unfortunately for me, I’ve had 3 cesareans now so there is no way I could successfully endure natural childbirth without doing irreversible damage. I’m a very tiny person who has what’s so aptly titled as dysfunctional labor. Regardless of multiple cesareans or not, I’m one of those unlucky woman who would have died in childbirth in the olden days. Regardless of my individual circumstances, I was extremely pleased to run across such an informative blog. You have a lot of great resources listed for women who often succumb to whatever ‘fad’ happens to be going on in the medical field at the time. One of the biggest draw backs to that is that people end up lacking the motivation to do research on their own so it’s refreshing to see someone who has taken the time to gather such information in efforts to rectify such ignorance among the masses.

    Keep up the great work and I wish you and others who run across what you’ve provided here all the best!

  4. Idetrorce,

    Thanks for your comment. I’m curious to know what in particular you don’t agree with. Regardless, I appreciate you stopping by and posting a comment.

    ~ Labortrials

Leave a Reply

