Easter Thoughts

Today is a great day.  We made it to Mass on time . . . early even.  Our daughter was fairly well-behaved during the service (though I was hardly able to pay attention to the readings or the homily).  Friends came over for brunch.  The kids enjoyed the egg hunt.  It’s cold but sunny.

I was just reviewing the readings for today and yesterday and want to share two of them:

Col 3:1-4 

Brothers and sisters:
If then you were raised with Christ, seek what is above,
where Christ is seated at the right hand of God.
Think of what is above, not of what is on earth. For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.
When Christ your life appears,
then you too will appear with him in glory.

This makes me think of my babies that were never born.  I can’t really explain the correlation, but today – and every day – I think of them.

Ps 51:12-13, 14-15, 18-19

R. (12a) Create a clean heart in me, O God.
A clean heart create for me, O God,
and a steadfast spirit renew within me.
Cast me not out from your presence,
and your Holy Spirit take not from me.
R. Create a clean heart in me, O God.
Give me back the joy of your salvation,
and a willing spirit sustain in me.
I will teach transgressors your ways,
and sinners shall return to you.
R. Create a clean heart in me, O God.
For you are not pleased with sacrifices;
should I offer a holocaust, you would not accept it.
My sacrifice, O God, is a contrite spirit;
a heart contrite and humbled, O God, you will not spurn.
R. Create a clean heart in me, O God.

My heart is not clean.  I need to keep this psalm with me and read it many times over.  I believe I have been asked to sacrifice.  Perhaps I still need help finding my contrite and humble spirit.  We’re taught not to blame God for bad things that happen.  We’re taught to give him thanks and praise for the blessings we receive.  This is awfully unfair.  My hope and prayer is that God will reveal something that gives me peace about this awful time in my life.

One response to “Easter Thoughts

  1. I hope that God will reveal something that gives you peace. Hugs to you. Be patient with yourself. Most miracles take time. Healing is a miracle that eventually does come, but I think the sadness always lingers.
    More hugs.

Leave a Reply

