Things Do Change or Welcome to Waffling

I had my most recent ultrasound a couple of weeks ago.  I was pleased to find out that both babies are guestimated to be roughly the same gestational age and size.  In fact, at 28-29 weeks pregnant, they were measuring 2lbs15oz!  They’re keeping up and even slightly ahead of the average singleton of the same age!

The other piece of great news is that they are both head down . . . or at least they were during that ultrasound.  This means the likelihood of a natural birth in the hospital is more likely.  It means that hospital birth is back on the table.

A midwife told me that I’d have to pay for the birth experience that would be best for me and my family.  It’s true – if I want an optimal experience, it’ll be a huge out of pocket expense with the possibility of additional hospital expenses should 1-3 of us need additional care.  I wish I were made of money and could afford the birth experience of my dreams.  I’m not so fortunate.  This is not how healthcare or maternity care works in the US.  No, I can’t put a price on the health and well-being of our triad, but that doesn’t mean that I can afford alternative health care or maternity care at this time.  And I’m not going to feel guilty about that either, ya know?!

My personal out of pocket max from 7/1-6/30 is $2300.  My family out of pocket max is $4600.  An out of hospital birth will cost at least $3500 (if I travel) or closer to $7000 if I stay home.  I can’t ignore the math – not on my salary.

I am so glad that I have explored my options.  I am still considering these options but am back to planning my “best birth” at the local hospital with an OB and a fantastic doula (who just happens to be a wonderful homebirth midwife).

* Check back soon for my review of Your Best Birth and a book giveaway.

5 responses to “Things Do Change or Welcome to Waffling

  1. Pingback: Democracy for America Asks for Montanans’ Stories « Oh my, Twins!

  2. In Pa we have lots of issues in the Maternal/child health arena. Thirteen area hospitals have closed their maternity dept in 10 years. It is an alarming crisis. Another one is scheduled to close later this year.

    I feel your pain when it comes to a homebirth. We would love one but I am risked out due to my loss history.

    Good luck! I truly hope you can get the best birth for you and the babies.

  3. Could you recommend any midwives in the SW Houston area? My wife’s first child was a c-section, but the second one delivered naturally (vaginally). She’s looking for a doctor / midwife that does VBACs.

    Thanks,
    Zoe

    • Hi Zoe,
      I used to live in Houston, but that was long before I started thinking about kids. I strongly recommend getting to know the International Cesarean Awareness Network (ICAN). You can visit their forums at http://www.ican-online.org. I owe so much to the women who gather around this organization. I started posting on their Yahoo group list about 2 years ago and learned so much. That Yahoo list is still active, but ICAN runs forums through their site as well.

      In particular, contact ICAN of Houston/Galveston
      Chapter Leader: Angela Baehr
      eMail Address: icanofhougal@gmail.com

      She may be able to make recommendations for you. Best wishes,
      Kimberly

Leave a Reply

