Bellydancing a Better Pregnancy

Oh bellydancing . . . where have you been all these years?  Of course I’ve known about bellydancing, but I don’t fancy myself the bellydancing type, so I’d never done it.  In fact, the last time I saw someone bellydance – and this is going to sound horribly judgmental – I was somewhat traumatized by the woman’s body.  She was one proud mama, I’ll give you that.  But it was just more evidence that I am not meant to bellydance, and certainly not in this town.

This is a very different pregnancy for me.  I’ve thought I’ve had different pregnancies before, but I can honestly say that I’m making this one different.  Those of you who follow this blog with any regularity know that I have posted plenty of academic pieces full of statistics and analysis.  But that’s not my path this pregnancy.  Of course, I’m trying to keep up on all of that – but I’m more interested in building trust, faith, strength, and peace.

So the short of the long of it is I decided to look into bellydancing.  After much deliberation, I decided to purchase Amira’s DVD.  It’s not the most exciting DVD, but it feels amazing.  I rely on my chiropractor to put my aching pelvis back together on a regular basis.  However, since starting the bellydance DVD and alternating it with prenatal yoga DVDs, but pelvis has stopped yelling at me so much.

I also suffer from symphasis pubis dysfunction.  I know the aches and pains are coming, but I’m sure they started earlier at least in the last pregnancy.  Other than some pulling in the left round ligament, I’ve had very little pain in the front.  I’m also noticing now that my adhesions don’t hurt – they sure did when I started the DVD.

If you suffer from pelvic instability – you MUST try bellydance.  I don’t know why this isn’t emphasized as strongly as yoga, but it has made a world of difference for me.  Next up, Dance of the Womb, which you can purchase through ICAN, and actually it’s the best price I’ve found.  I’m also going to try and work a beginning belly dance class into my schedule.  I’ve checked with the teacher, and she says this particular class is safe for pregnancy.

One response to “Bellydancing a Better Pregnancy

  1. Such an interesting read! I’m so glad bellydance has helped you with your pain! It just goes to show the dance we love has many practical uses, too. :) If you have any questions about anything related to bellydance, visit my website (www.hipmix.net) and check the ‘lifestyles’ section for all of our articles! And you’re welcome to create a free profile and connect with other dancers from around the world!

    Have a wonderful day!
    Hugs and shimmies~Dilara
    http://www.HipMix.net

Leave a Reply

