I’m subluxated (?!)

I just had to use a form of the word, subluxation, in my title.  I have no idea if it is used as a verb.  I enjoy twisting (making up) words.  Tee hee.

In all seriousness, I have discovered some fascinating things.  A search for a Webster Technique practitioner led me to Dr. Shelby Smith of the Vitality Chiropractic Clinic.  I’d never heard the term subluxation before even though I had visited chiropractors in the past.  Basically, my health is impacted by distortions in my skeletal structure.  At the center of this is nervous system dysfunction.  Why?  Because the brain sends nerve fibers down to the spinal column.  Nerves go all over the body – like into your organs?!!!  So these distortions – or subluxations – cause the nervous system to disconnect with other body systems.  (At least this is a pared down version of what I currently understand to be true from this care perspective.)

Today I received this nifty folder that shows me where my subluxations are located and what that means to the rest of my body.  I have trouble at C6 and C7 (C means cervical) which may “explain” effects such as stiff neck, thyroid conditions, shoulder troubles, etc.  Here’s a link to a sample folder from Koren Publications.  Their brochure, The Vital Connection, is also quite informative!

I’ve been feeling like my body has lead a revolt against me.  I have chronic pain, issues with fatigue, anxiety, depression, skin, alcohol . . . you name it.  It seems as though my body’s skeletal alignment is sending really nasty messages to different parts of my body.  So I feel like a wreck, because I am a wreck.

I am on a new road to recovery that feels right.  Dr. Shelby’s perspective takes into consideration the mind-body connection.  She can make recommendations for diet changes that may speed recovery; she’s supportive of exercise and acupuncture; she welcomes questions related to any number of mind-body problems.  This is the beginning of a journey through illness and recovery.

One thought on “I’m subluxated (?!)

  1. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it! Certain medications may do more than just prevent or treat anxiety attacks or disorders; they may also help with depression or simply the way that you live your life.

Leave a Reply

