Currently Reading and Researching

Since I am at home bleeding with nothing else to do . . . I have been doing a lot of reading and research.  I don’t have the mental fortitude to break it all down into individual posts, so here is the “cluster eff” from yesterday and today:

Homebirth: Safety & Benefits, courtesy of Ronnie Falcao, LM MS – even though her site isn’t stylish, the information is good

Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Site and Forums – lots of food for thought here . . . and very good examples of why women should not do a D&C unless they are unable to miscarry naturally. . . and why women shouldn’t take cytotec to induce abortion.  Check out their Blighted Ovum FAQ.

Please watch this video on the awful things that cytotec induction (in labor and delivery) can do.  Cytotec is an ulcer medication and is contraindicated for pregnant women!!!

Related – “Drugs, Knives, and Midwives: The U.S. maternity care system is in crisis. A grassroots movement to save it is under way” by Elizabeth Larsen, Utne Reader, March/April 2007.  I’ve looked it over but will read it thoroughly today.

I liked this “Helping a Friend Through a Miscarriage“.  Please consider reading it if you’re helping a loved one deal with this tragedy.

I’m certainly more wary of ultrasound these days and regret that I had to have one of Sunday.  (Some may rightly say that I didn’t have to have one on Sunday, but they’re not walking in my shoes right now.)  Yesterday I read Rodgers’ “Questions about Prenatal Ultrasound and the Alarming Increase in Autism” from Midwifery Today, and that scared the crap out of me.  Today I will read Wagner’s “Ultrasound: More Harm Than Good?” and Beech’s “Ultrasound: Weighing the Propaganda Against the Facts”.  I recommend anyone considering ultrasound during pregnancy to look at Kmom’s compilation (2003).

Read some of these testimonials from women who suffered through subchorionic hematoma!  I’ve found this thread very encouraging.

I’m also trying to locate a copy of Lesley Regan’s miscarriage book.  Too bad the local library and the University library don’t have this book.  If anyone I know can loan me a copy . . . I’d sure appreciate it.  Also, feel free to share your favorite miscarriage resources in the comments section.

One response to “Currently Reading and Researching

  1. I see that one of the topics you’ve been reading about is the concern over possible links between ultrasounds and autism. I’m actually organizing a bloggers-only conference call later this week with a leading fetal medicine expert on this topic. Would you be interested in participating in this call? I don’t see an “email me” link on your blog to send you the information, but please email me at tim.mccann@revolutionhealth.com if you’re interested or would like more info.

    Tim M.

Leave a Reply

