Leaves

Leaves make me sad.  Things tend to go to hell in a handbasket (or more) in the Fall.  I’ve NEVER liked Fall.  Even when I like Fall, I’m wary of Fall.  And for good reason.

Do you see this picture?  I suppose I look happy.  I’m not.

By this time in 2007 I had suffered two consecutive miscarriages.  I was starting to panic.  I was starting to lose it.

This photo also reminds me of our last good day with Alfred, the first dog my hubby & I had together.  We were playing in the leaves that day and with our baby girl.  Life seemed complicated then, but things were good and we knew it.  Alfred died soon after.

Leaves surround me now and make me remember the wonderful things I’ve lost this time of year.  And I’m thinking of a student (and friend) with two young daughters who just lost her husband.  Another loss in the Fall.

These losses also remind me of the many blessings of my life.  I prayed and prayed for another baby . . . and lo and behold I have had 3 more!

Silver linings abound.  Blue skies lurk behind the grey menacing clouds.  If i were more of an optimist, I’d always be looking for those silver linings and blue skies.  However, the wicked past has taught me that the grey menacing clouds return, perhaps more frequently than I would like.  Does the blue and silver merely tease me?  Or does the grey remind me to be thankful for the brilliance of the others?

I continue to ponder this . . . this chiaroscuro that is life.

 

Leave a Reply

