Current Research and Paradigm Shifts

I will never be free from medical ethics and consumer advocacy.  I am thankful for that.  Not only have I learned so much about my body and the complications of the medical field, but I have also learned that much of this knowledge can be applied in other fields.  I am hopeful that my research will help further an inevitable paradigm shift in my field that has yet to be “named.”  I can’t be more specific about it at this time.

I can be specific about my reading list:

  • Groopman’s How Doctors Think is at the top of the list (but currently MIA from my library, argh!)
  • Gawande’s The Checklist Manifesto and Complications: A Surgeon’s Notes on an Imperfect Science
  • Gadamer’s The Enigma of Health
  • Medical Error, Rosenthal & Sutcliffe (eds.)
  • Medicine Looks at the Humanities, Newel & Gabrielson (eds.)

I suppose this will keep me busy over the long winter break!

Leave a Reply

